Art in Udaipur, India

Posted on August 26, 2010

0


“Come in Miss, come in! I show you to paint with a squirrel hair!”

A man stands in the doorway of a tiny art shop, grinning at me. It’s only just breaking light here in Udaipur, the city of lakes in India’s northwestern region of Rajasthan. The cobbled streets are almost deserted and there’s a slight fog, making the maze-like alleyways down near the ghats seem more magical than usual.

I hesitate. Stacked in frames against the front window of the shop are beautiful paintings, none bigger than a postcard. Each artwork is a detailed glimpse into the wonders of Rajasthani culture: palaces, forts, lakes, snarling tigers, and dancing serpents.

But after a month of travelling in India, I am more than a little cynical about grinning men. I start to walk on.

“No sell, I provide you art class!”

They say there’s a sucker born every minute, and when you’re travelling, you are re-born every day. So, I give in to India yet again and turn around, squeezing myself and my backpack through the narrow entrance and down some chipped white stairs.

Read the rest over at Trespass.


Posted in: Travel, Writing